Passing Considerations of Employment

My two-days-a-week stint at BBC Radio Cambridgeshire (“BBC Cambs” to us locals) continues, much to my delight, and though I would not wish my current situation to be in any way greatly altered, it occurred to me recently that, sooner or later, one must pay the bills.

And so it was, with great reluctance, that I recently began to consider the possibility of entertaining the notion of seeking some form of “work”.

To be precise, I should say that I only recently began to actively seek employment, for I had already taken the time to lay down a few ground rules with respect to my working life in Cambridge:

  • #1 – No IT …at least not right away. I’d been working in software since getting out of University and the path I had been travelling down – namely, the path of least resistance – was not one I much cared to follow any further. If I’m to return to sitting in front of a computer all day and having only minimal contact with those around me, it’s going to take a particularly interesting project to put me there.
  • #2 – Sociable Something that I found for the first time in a long while at the BBC, and something that I rarely had a chance to experience since my days of drugstore retail, was the simple pleasure of unexpected and unpredictable conversations with strangers. The lack of this simple social interaction was something I missed more than I realized, and something I would like to get back.
  • #3 – Hobby-worthy I am a fairly schizophrenic hobbyist, to put it mildly. My interests veer off in every direction on the map, and every few months I seem to find myself utterly infatuated with some new pastime. Therefore, I decided that, whatever I plan to work at, it must be something that I would still be interested in doing even if I were not being paid for it. We’ve all heard that advice countless times, but it was only after realizing that most of my past jobs would hold little interest for me if there was not the promise of a paycheque that I took that concept more to heart.

It is an interesting commentary on my personality and interests that the first two applications I dropped off, after having established the above ground rules, were at a musical instruments vendor and a wine merchant.

I had also considered applying at an outdoor / MEC-style store, but somehow I felt the concept of working indoors all day in a store specializing in outdoor adventure gear could lead to some frustration. (Granted, I suppose the same could be said for working in a wine store while retaining at least a respectable level of sobriety, but let’s not over-analyze the topic.)


In other non-work related news…

Ally and I have booked our next weekend-vacation. In mid-April, we’re spending four days in Holland to visit some of Alison’s relatives and see the Keukenhof – the world’s largest flower garden, and the premiere locale to see those famous Dutch Tulips.

Oh, and in case you don’t yet have a note written in your calendars, don’t forget to take part in this year’s 26th Annual Festival of Colossal Gratitude, a yearly celebration of thanks and generosity in which citizens around the world join in song, merriment and extravagant gift-giving to rejoice the anniversary of the arrival of a certain special someone into our lives.

That’s slated for April 2 this year.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

