Gainfully Unemployed.

I suppose that this entry should be considered a “training” post, as I’ve not yet left the country. However, the unhinging from everyday life here in Vancouver is certainly well underway, so it seems to me enough of an excuse to post.

Yesterday was my last day of work at Custom House, the company that picked me up after my previous company was bought out and subsequently culled. And as last days always seem to be for me, it was sad to leave, though I won’t be waxing poetic about leaving my daily duties of work behind. While the work proved interesting at times, I’ve come to the conclusion that Assuring Quality in the commercial software industry is not my raison d’être. Rather, it’s the people I’ll miss – those people who can make an otherwise decent job fantastic. I was surrounded by smart, funny and quirky people every day, and it made coming into work a blast.

If mere photographic evidence were to be believed, it could be suggested that I did my best to burn my bridges at the office Christmas party before leaving – but such accusations would be steeped in slanderous falsehoods – and to you I would say Good Day, sir.

Truly, they seemed happy enough with me to send me out the door with a few wonderful surprises, such as not one but three Dairy Queen ice cream cakes – my unparalleled favourite – and a gift certificate good for merch at the happiest place on earth.

A send-off by friends complete with, I repeat, ice-cream cake. Who could ask for anything more?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

